127th Boston Marathon

127th Boston Marathon wheelchair and para athletic division winners and results

Aaron Pike rolled down Commonwealth Ave. at 9:28 a.m. He placed fourth in the Men’s Wheelchair Division. (Photo by Kristian Moravec/BU News Service

By Lincoln Son Currie

Boston University News Service

Marcel Hug and Susannah Scaroni crossed the finish line at the 127th Boston Marathon on Monday to win the men’s wheelchair and women’s wheelchair races, respectively. 

Five-time men’s wheelchair division Boston Marathon winner Marcel Hug headlined his division as the race kicked off at 9:02 a.m. in Hopkinton, Mass. The Swiss athlete also holds the all-time Boston Marathon record for his division with a time of 1:18:04. 

Hug faced off against Daniel Romanchuk, who won the division in 2019 and 2022. Hug won the event at 10:20 a.m. with a time of 1:14:07, defeating his record time by more than four minutes. This marks Hug’s sixth Boston Marathon victory and his return after withdrawing shortly before last year’s race for medical reasons,

Among the participants in the division is Matt Brown from Norwood, Mass. who suffered a spinal cord injury during a high school hockey game in 2010. Brown and his team have been participating in the Marathon since 2012.  

The women’s wheelchair race began at 9:05 a.m. as Swiss athlete Manuela Shär competed for her fourth consecutive women’s wheelchair title. Susannah Scaroni won that race with a time of 1:45:41 as she crossed the finish line at 10:49 a.m.

The Para Athletics division began at 9:50 a.m. The T11, T12 and T13 divisions are for runners with visual impairments. The T61-T64 divisions are for runners with lower-limb prostheses. 

El Amin Chentouf of Morocco won the men’s T11/T12 race at 12:08 p.m. with a time of 2:31:35. For the women’s T11/T12 race, Jessica Loomer of Colorado won at 2:11 p.m. with a time of 4:21:04.

Jennifer Herring of New Jersey won the women’s T13 division race with a time of 3:38:55, while Andrew Thorsen of Washington state won the men’s T13 with a time of 12:35:40. 

Marko Cheseto Lemtukei of Florida won the men’s T61-64 division as he crossed the finish line at 12:40 p.m. with a time of 2:50:02. Liz Willis of Kansas finished in first place in the women’s T61-64 division with a time of 4:05:25 at 1:55 p.m.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.